Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

February 1, 2024

The Honorable James Michael "Mike" Johnson Speaker of the United States House of Representatives H-232, the Capitol Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Speaker Johnson:

As we head into the 2024 election year, the Republican Conference will have numerous opportunities to prove to the American people why our party should be entrusted with continued control of the House of Representatives. One of the first opportunities to demonstrate a Republican Commitment to America will be to emphatically reject any permanent reauthorization or expansion of the Undetectable Firearms Act.

The Undetectable Firearms Act is an anachronistic piece of legislation that, when signed into law in 1988, prohibited previously nonexistent firearms. This archaic law requires that firearms must be capable of being detected by a metal detector calibrated to detect 3.7 ounces of stainless steel. Thirty-five years later, technology has thankfully rendered this requirement moot. From your local airport to the Smithsonian Institute, body scanners and X-ray machines are more than capable of detecting objects that do not contain metal. Investments in these effective security measures— not ineffective gun control—stand to provide a significantly higher return on public safety for the American people.

A recent redefinition by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) further raises the stakes for re-authorizing this unnecessary piece of legislation. An ATF rule originally proposed to redefine the "frame or receiver of a firearm" such that each gun could have a dozen or more regulatable parts under the Undetectable Firearms Act. Implementation of such a definition could have resulted in the largest gun ban in history. Anyone whose gun had even one small plastic "major component" could be charged with owning an undetectable firearm – all because that gun part failed to meet archaic security standards from 1988 that were never intended to apply to so many gun parts.

The Biden Administration has already demonstrated its ability to weaponize the Undetectable Firearms Act into a widespread plastic gun ban. Congress must not permanently reauthorize this law, especially while ATF's final definition of a "frame or receiver" is still being considered in the courts.

As the House continues delivering a conservative governing agenda, we encourage you to oppose any permanent reauthorization or expansion of the Undetectable Firearms Act. We look

forward to working together under your leadership to secure a victory for the Second Amendment.

Very Respectfully,

Andy Ogles

Member of Congress

Thomas Massie

Thomas Massie

Member of Congress

Scott Perry

Member of Congress

Andy Biggs

Member of Congress

Matt Rosendale Member of Congress

Marjorie Taylor Greene Member of Congress

Marjoin Saylor Drung

Lauren Boebert Member of Congress Randy K. Weber Member of Congress



I. M. Clax

Eric Burlison Member of Congress

Bob Good Member of Congress

13 in by

Bill Posey Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Tom McClintock

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress Paul A. Gosar Member of Congress

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress Mike Collins Member of Congress

Diana Harshbarger Member of Congress Alex X. Mooney Member of Congress Jeff Duncan

Jeff Duncan Member of Congress

Anna Paulina Luna Member of Congress

Chip Roy Member of Congress Warren Davidson Member of Congress

Harriet M. Hageman Member of Congress

John Rose Member of Congress

Jack Bergman Member of Congress Mary E. Miller Member of Congress

mary & Miller

Gary Palmer

Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress Keith Self
Member of Congress

Barry Moore Member of Congress

Mike Ezell
Member of Congress

Matt Gaetz Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko Member of Congress Lisa McClain

Lisa McClain Member of Congress

Andy Harris Member of Congress

Clay Higgins Member of Congress

Byron Donalds
Member of Congress

Virginia Foxx Member of Congress Thomas P Tiffory
Tom Tiffany

Tom Tiffany Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

Dan Bishop Member of Congress

Josh Brecheen Member of Congress

Burgess Owens Member of Congress Ronny L. Jackson Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress Brad Finstad Member of Congress

Laurel Lee Member of Congress Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress Garret Graves Member of Congress

Lance Gooden
Member of Congress

Tim Burchett Member of Congress

Rich McCormick, MD, MBA Member of Congress

Scott DesJarlais Member of Congress Ben Cline
Ben Cline

Member of Congress

Michael Guest

Member of Congress

Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

William R. Timmons, IV Member of Congress



Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

Mike Bost Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde
Member of Congress

Claudia Tenney
Member of Congress

Morgan Luttrell
Member of Congress

Rudy Yakym III
Member of Congress

Mike Kelly Member of Congress Nathaniel Moran Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong Member of Congress Mark Alford
Member of Congress

Neal P. Dunn, M.D. Member of Congress



y L. Carl

Pete Sessions Member of Congress

James Comer Member of Congress Jerry Carl Member of Congress

Ashley Hinson Member of Congress Dusty Johnson

Member of Congress